top of page
  • therainydaywriter

Books, strawberries and summer evening style: My Joanie dress review

I discovered Joanie Clothing a few years ago when I was working for a company that did some marketing for them, and was instantly obsessed with their vintage-inspired styles. Everything I've ever bought from there allows me to reach my Jessica Day wardrobe goals, and I'm constantly targeted with them on social media so I have an almost permanent temptation to add to my collection!


Although you might not believe it if you looked at my lockdown attire of leggings and baggy jumpers, I love wearing dresses. The only problem I have is that, as an IBS-sufferer, I'm very prone to bloating and it's hard to find dresses that don't showcase my bump-like stomach during a flare-up. However, all the ones I've bought from Joanie have been perfectly bloat-friendly, so even when I feel a bit rubbish physically, you wouldn't know from the outside.


Aside from how beautiful and comfy they are, there are two things I love about dresses from Joanie:

  • They often have secret buttons to prevent any unplanned boob or belly appearances

  • Many of them have pockets!


I've recently treated myself to not one, but TWO Joanie dresses and love them so much I thought I'd tell you all about them! Before I go further I must stress that this isn't an ad, I just want to gush about my new favourite garments.


First up, we have the Pepper Book Print Shirt Dress.


Pepper Book Print Shirt Dress



As a massive book nerd, I have wanted to own this dress for actual years, ever since I first visited the Joanie website. But, sadly, they never had it in my size. Eventually it left the shelves and I was resigned to the unhappy truth that it wasn't meant to be.


BUT THEN! One fine Sunday evening I was scrolling through Instagram looking for inspiration for the following week's meal plan when I saw the glorious words 'New In!' on a sponsored post and there she was, looking every bit as wonderful as I remembered. So I had to do it. Yes, we're planning a wedding and therefore trying to save money, but this was quite clearly fate. So I did the right thing and within 3-5 business days, she had arrived through my letterbox.


This dress is super comfy - I bought it in my usual size and it fits like a glove. I do have visions of myself sitting under a tree in a meadow somewhere on a hazy afternoon, wearing this dress, grazing on a picnic and reading a paperback, but the weather hasn't permitted for this fantasy to become reality just yet. However, it does look great with a denim jacket and would be the perfect thing to wear for a pub garden drinks meet up.


A month or so after becoming the proud wearer of the Pepper Book dress, I treated myself to a summery number.


Fraises Embroidered Strawberry Chambray Midi Dress






It was mainly the strawberries that drew me to this one. Also the fact that there was 20% off in the bank holiday sale so really, it would have been rude not to. It's a touch longer than I'd usually go for, but it's always nice to have a little change!


Again, I went for my usual size and it's a really comfy fit. My favourite part of this is the super swishy skirt, I mean who doesn't love pretending to be Maria von Trapp singing The Hills Are Alive? I also love the denim blue colour and of course the little strawberries giving off lovely picnic vibes.


I haven't had chance to wear this in the wild yet, but like the Pepper Book dress, it could easily be worn casually or for drinks or a meal out.



Do you have a favourite item from Joanie Clothing? Despite my efforts to save money, I'm always keen to get more wardrobe inspo so do let me know! In the meantime, if you'd like to read more of my reviews, you can subscribe at the bottom of this page and get email updates whenever I ramble about something new.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page