top of page
  • therainydaywriter

Double Gousto!

Things were a bit hectic last week, so we ended up eating our Gousto meals on different days and before I knew it, the next box had arrived. So I've combined the last couple of week's reviews in one post. Also due to the frantic nature of the last two weeks, I've forgotten the days we ate the meals on 🥴 so excuse the higgledy piggledgy order!


Much like I did with most of these meals, I'll dive straight in.


Lemony Crab and Pea Risotto



Risotto is one of those foods that instantly makes me do a big sigh of relief. It's such a comfort food, especially after a long day. I also think it's quite soothing to make, although (I forgot to mention this at the start) Graham made all of these again!


This was lovely and definitely gave me the warm hug I needed, but I couldn't really taste the crab. That said, the risotto did have a lovely flavour and I would certainly have it again or make it my own way. It also featured my arch nemesis, rocket, but to be fair it wasn't so bad mixed in with the creamy risotto.


My score: 8/10


Harissa Lamb Hotpot with Minty Beans




Oh I'd totally forgotten about how much I loved this!


I'd describe this as the kind of meal you'd have at a fancy pub after an autumnal walk on an October day. It completely hit a spot I didn't even know needed to be hit and quite honestly left my tummy smiling.


It was made from lamb mince and accompanied by green beans smothered in minted butter, which were an absolute delight! I definitely want to make this again.


My score: 10/10!


Chicken Shashlik Burritos with Mango Yoghurt



Sadly, I was a bit underwhelmed by this one. I loved the idea of a shashlik burrito, but just felt that it was lacking something. That something was cheese, and something to give it a kick.


I think if I was to make this again, I'd throw in a chilli or some spicy sauce to add a contrast to the yohgurt, and as I mentioned, a sprinkle of grated cheese.


Don't get me wrong, I didn't hate this. The chicken was coated in lovely korma spices and the rice was delicious! It just wasn't my fave.


My score: 6/10


Chicken Katsu Curry




I had been caving a katsu curry for soooo long, so when I saw this on the Gousto menu I was very excited.


And it didn't disappoint! I can 't work out how the ingredients (soy sauce, mango chutney, carrots, ginger and rice vinegar) came together to make such a splendid katsu sauce, but for me it's just extra proof that magic exists.


The chicken was great too; there's something about breadcrumb-coated chicken that I really love, but pre-Gousto was something we'd never really done.


My score: 9/10 (loved it, it just wasn't as good as the hotpot!)



One-Pot Black Pepper Chicken Dal and Naan



Again, this was good, but I was a teeny bit disappointed with it. I think this is because I have only ever had dal once before in a restaurant and it was outstanding, and this one just wasn't the same.


It was nice though and very filling! I loved the texture, and I'm never going to hate anything that comes with bread. If I'm honest, it could have done without the chicken, but the chicken tasted great all the same.


My score: 7/10


Turkish Spiced Lamb Pastry Pie and Herby Bulgur




This is what we call 'Graham food'! It was right up his street, but in fairness I enjoyed it too.


Call me boring, but my favourite part was actually the bulgur wheat. I've never had it before but I do kind of have a thing for grains and it was really refreshing with mint running through it. The pie was good though - proper stodgy grub that would be an amazing hangover cure.


My score: 8/10



This week, we're on Zingy Fish En Papillote With Vegetable Rice, Bacon & Leek Tart With Zingy Potato Salad and DIY Pizza Diavola With Pepperoni. I'll let you know how we get on!




3 views

Bình luận


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page