top of page
  • therainydaywriter

30-Day Motivation Challenge

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

"If you have depression on its own your mind sinks into a swamp and loses momentum, but with anxiety in the cocktail, the swamp is still a swamp but the swamp has whirlpools in it." - Matt Haig, Reasons to Stay Alive


I'm very late to the party with Matt Haig's Reasons to Stay Alive, but it feels as though he's taken all the words that are swimming around in my mind during my darkest moments and arranged them into exactly what I'm trying to say about how I'm feeling. I read the above sentence and nearly cried because it summed up how I feel so eloquently. It helped me to realise that perhaps I'm not on my own trying not to drown in those swampy whirlpools.


I've struggled with my mental health for quite a long time, but have reached a point in my life where I feel I really need to gain a stronger sense of control. I'm under no illusions, I know that the problems I have are never going to vanish completely; they are a part of who I am and I have made a certain level of peace with that. But the fact that the associated thoughts and feelings can get so intense that they overwhelm me isn't okay. As someone who can't swim, the idea of drowning is always a terrifying notion, but it works metaphorically as well. If I get triggered by a thought or event, or even just wake up with that weighted feeling of doom around my chest and shoulders, it is very difficult to poke my head out of the fog and rise above the bad vibes. Instead, they pull me under and things get kind of ugly. Anxiety is a dirty little liar and depression believes everything anxiety says and takes it personally - together they form a very toxic relationship that is very difficult to separate.


I am currently coming to the end of a cognitive behavioural therapy course. I think in some ways, it has helped. I've been able to identify what my triggers are and why they cause me such aggro, but it's dealing with the aftermath that's the hard part. I'm not bashing CBT - I know for some it has had a massive positive impact - but I think I'm just going around in circles at the moment, so I need a bit of extra help. I'm reluctant to try medication due to a bad experience in the past, but I'm not ruling it out if I can't make any positive change on my own.


A big thing for me is motivation. This very blog was meant to motivate me but I've let it slide over the last month or so. I'm not saying that being motivated is going to cure my mental health issues entirely, but I'm hoping that giving myself a goal will help to push me forward a bit and revive my get up and go on the days when everything feels a bit tough.


So I've put together this little challenge. My thinking is, if I can do one thing a day that makes me feel motivated, it's a step in the right direction. Plus, it will get me through August and through to the 'ber' months, which are my favourite, so I'm hoping I'll naturally have a bit more excited energy then. I've nicked some of these off Pinterest, but here they are:

  1. Write down your goals for the month

  2. Read (or listen to) something inspirational

  3. Go for a run or walk

  4. Get an early night

  5. Do something you've been putting off

  6. Have a delicious breakfast

  7. Research some new, healthy recipes and work them into your next meal plan

  8. Make a vision board

  9. Get up 20 minutes early and set some intentions for the day

  10. Cook something healthy and nourishing

  11. Get out in the fresh air, even if it's raining!

  12. Write a gratitude list

  13. Get your heart rate up with a new exercise

  14. Go outdoors again!

  15. Listen to a motivational podcast

  16. Write some goals for the week

  17. Get up early and meditate

  18. Do some bedtime yoga

  19. Put your phone down 2 hours before bed and read instead

  20. Call home

  21. Do some more yoga

  22. Write down three things you're proud of

  23. Up your water game! Try for 2 litres at least

  24. Another phone-free evening

  25. Listen to a positive playlist

  26. Fill your meals with leafy green vegetables

  27. Go for a long walk

  28. Buy some flowers to brighten up your home

  29. Take a long, pampering bath

  30. Celebrate finishing the challenge!


Feel free to join in if you like! They are only little things really, but the goal of feeling a bit better and more in control at the end of it is something I'm hoping will spur me on.


I won't blog about this every day because that's excessive, but I'll keep you updated on Instagram.


Again, I know a little challenge like this is trivial in the world of mental health, and if you are struggling it's so important to talk to someone. The Centre for Mental Health provides the following advice for anyone concerned about their mental health:


  • Call NHS 111 (for when you need help but are not in immediate danger)

  • Contact your GP and ask for an emergency appointment

  • Contact the Samaritans

  • Use the 'Shout' crisis text line - text SHOUT to 85258

Do remember, even though it might feel like it at times, you are never alone.


8 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page